WORKSHOP
REVIEWS
For anyone who has already participated in these workshops over the years, Matt is collecting reviews. Would love to hear what you thought of your time in the studio making with clay.
WORKSHOP
REVIEWS
For anyone who has already participated in these workshops over the years, Matt is collecting reviews. Would love to hear what you thought of your time in the studio making with clay.

Beginner Workshops
Rhiannon, Beginner's workshop
12.09.2017

It was a brilliant course. Learnt lots of new skills and techniques. I am a complete beginner and learnt to embrace my mistakes. Just the right amount of time after work and a lovely atmosphere in which to learn. I would highly recommend! Thank you!

Beginner Workshops
Rose Harris, Artist
05.06.2017

I now am planning on signing up for the Tile workshop as I loved the Beginners so much. Matt is an AMAZING teacher and makes you feel very comfortable in the studio whilst also being enthusiastic and excited with what everyone is making. He's a great teacher, the classes are a lovely size and its just such a fun evening course to do ! I gave it to my boyfriend for his bday and he also LOVED IT!

Beginner Workshops
Lizzie , Artist
05.06.2017

I have now taken 3 of Matt's courses as I love them so much! He is an excellent and enthusiastic teacher. The techniques are explained in a simple way so that you can get started making straight away. I am so happy with my bits and bobs I made and now just want to make more and more!

Beginner Workshops
Fatima, Designer
14.03.2016

Awesome course - I learned so much in such a short space of time! Matt was an amazing teacher and someone who really knows how to inject oxygen into a room. He created a playful, laid-back atmosphere that encouraged everyone to experiment and just have fun with it. I'm inspired to pursue ceramics now, thanks Matt!

Beginner Workshops
Maisie, Writer
30.11.2015

What fun! I'd dabbled a little in ceramics before but the Beginner workshop is the perfect opportunity to learn more techniques, ask more questions, make more mistakes, and then realise their beauty... Matt's laid-back attitude put everybody completely at ease, so it was a lovely opportunity to make some friends as well as some (wonky) Christmas presents. Also, wine! Hurrah!

Multiple Workshops
Elizabeth, Journalist
05.11.2015

"Our dormant creativity burst forth when we moved on to making plaster moulds and combustibles. The ceramic chit-chat that is such a nice feature of these workshop sessions continued at a friendly low-level buzz as we modelled our pieces. I fashioned a seed-poddy shape that looked like a gigantic coffee bean. With the addition of semi-cooked spaghetti inside one mould, and a whitish glaze, I unwittingly created a "brain" which now stands under a glass dome in my sitting room. It is the envy of friends who do not have such a brain."

Beginner Workshops
Rita, Artist
04.11.2015

"It was an absolute pleasure to take this workshop. Matt's experience, resourcefulness, presence, creativity and direction took all the group to dive deep into ceramics making the whole process a very fun and enjoyable experience. I felt that i learned so much in only three sessions and that is because of Matt's profound knowledge about the craft was so openly accesible towards us. It certainly inspired me to continuing experimenting further on with clay. I would recommend for anyone interested to try it!"

Beginner Workshops
Ben, Brain Injury Charity
02.11.2015

"Matt is an excellent facilitator. I'd done a small amount of ceramics before but was still apprehensive about picking up clay again. Matt put everyone at their ease and inspired confidence all around. He has a can-do attitude and an infectious passion for the creative process. The course was both fun and fascinating."

Beginner Workshops
Zarya, Architect
28.10.2015

"The workshop with Matt Raw was a great way to extend my spatial design studies with ceramic explorations. It covered everything a beginner must know to turn a block of earth into a beautiful ceramic. Diverse techniques to manipulate the clay and apply the glazes gave extraordinary final results for the whole group. The atmosphere was very serene and peaceful but also friendly and warm. I would highly recommend the workshops for anyone interested to create and learn about ceramics in a fun and engaging way!"

Beginner Workshops
Mélanie, Graphic Designer
29.10.2015

"I was completely new to ceramics before signing up for the (beginner) workshop. Matt is a great educator and fantastic at introducing the technicalities of ceramic while keeping it fun and accessible. A great opportunity to learn the basic techniques in a friendly yet motivating environment."

Beginner Workshops
Colin, Designer
16.10.2015

"I've not used clay to make anything for a long time (probably since school), but wanted to try something new and was intrigued by Matt's classes having heard good things about it. I was blown away by Matt's knowledge, patience and enthusiasm - everyone in my group was in the same position as me but Matt made sure we all had the opportunity to experiment and have fun with working with clay and encouraged us to be experimental with the material. It created a relaxed and fun atmosphere, with everyone getting to know each other and being able to create beautiful objects to take away with us. I'm looking forward to the next class and have encouraged all of my friends to try it and most importantly, do it!"

Multiple Workshops
Tammy, Accessory Designer
22.10.2015

"The Combustibles workshop was great! It's a lovely relaxed atmosphere and the group is the perfect size to be able to ask lots of questions and have plenty of space to experiment. It was a nice step up from the first workshop and a chance to learn completely new skills. The plaster moulding and working with the combustibles meant thinking about the process of making an object in a completely different way was quite challenging but really fun and everyone got some really good results. Matt's a great teacher and I'd highly recommend the course to anyone!"